I'm new and I don't know where to start

Hey guys, hope everyone is doing great.

I’m a student in New Zealand and have a lot of free time. Because of this I have been looking for interesting projects to pursue and skills to learn. My end goal is to code an app like Sidechef or Mealime (for recreation). I have been researching where to start learning but have just been overloaded with so much information saying different things.

I would love to have the below questions asked:

• Which sites and platforms should I learn from?
  • What languages should i learn?
  • And how many hours should it take me to learn enough to reach my goal?

Thanks so much in advance :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I highly recommend freeCodeCamp.org. Just start at the beginning and keep going.

1 Like

I would recommend w3schools.com .It teaches nearly everything you need for many programming languages.

Hope that helps!

Hello, l was like you a year ago , know exactly what you want to then google it like " How to be" or “Guide to be” otherwise you will be misled in Tech.

101 Best Places to Learn to Code For Free | Learn to Code With Me | Coding for Beginners this is the article i read through to get a good idea of where to start. i especially recommend https://www.freecodecamp.org/

it depends on what you’re wanting to do with coding. since you said you’re interested in coding apps, i would research which languages are most commonly used for that purpose (i’ve heard java is commonly used, but i’m not very knowledgeable on the subject since i don’t plan on coding apps).

don’t worry about setting strict timelines right off the bat. there’s no real way to determine how long it will take you to learn enough to reach your goal. just focus on really learning. setting unrealistic timelines only sets you up for disappointment. just go at your own pace and take your time so you don’t end up with gaps in your knowledge.