I'm trying to build a note-taking app from scratch. What path should I take?

Hi! For the summer I think I might as well learn some new skills.

I’m a complete beginner to coding and all that jazz.

Here for some advice at what course i should take on freeCodeCamp, what technologies should I use…

Thanks again!

do responsive web desinging

Yes, im currently doing the course right now. Anything else? For the back-end?

Hi @noqes !

Welcome to the forum!

There are many ways you can build a note taking app.

You can build a simple one just using html, css and javascript.
You can build one with a framework like react.
You can also build one with python.

My advice would be to learn the basics of html, css and javascript and then build out a simplified version of the app.

You can learn the basics of html, css and javascript through the first two FCC certifications.
html and css course
Javascript course

Once you become more comfortable with your skills then you can revisit the app and add more features or rebuild it with a different tech stack.

Even though there are plenty of tutorials that can walk you through building a note taking app, I would advise you to not to jump straight into a tutorial first.

I have seen too many people jump straight into project tutorials and they haven’t learned the fundamentals first.
IMO, that is not an effective learning approach and you will probably be just copying code at that point without any understanding.

Learn the fundamentals first.

Hope that helps!

1 Like

Nice! Thanks for the tips.

I’m currently doing the Responsive Web Design Cert rn. Will pick up the Javascript later :slight_smile:

1 Like

Should i learn Go for the server side?

I’ve heard that its fast, really fast.

I haven’t personally worked with Go so I can’t really comment on that.

With javascript, you can build a note taking app using the MERN (MongoDB, Express, React, Node) stack.