Is PHP still a good choice in 2019 (as a freelancer)?

There is something about PHP that clicks better with me, sort of like how Vue clicks better with me than React.
My ultimate goal is to become a freelancer and work on a large-scale project I have been attempting to produce for a few years now.
I am wanting to create a web app for my city that includes forums, business reviews, and among other things. The main seller of this app is that users earn points everytime they participate in anything, which in return they can earn rewards.

What are your thoughts, and is PHP (and its framework Laravel) the right choice for this app in 2019?

1 Like

PHP is definetly still a relevant technology to learn. My opinion though is that I wouldn’t build something new in PHP. If you want to build something that lasts, you want to be forward-looking.

2 Likes

What should I use for a project like this then?

JS (NodeJS) would be my go to move.

What about AdonisJS? It is a node framwork inspired by Laravel.

Never have used it. By myself I jumped from Laravel to NodeJS and MongoDB. I believe you need real time things in this kind of project so for interactivity, real time functions NodeJS would be the option.

PHP is an awful terrible wretched language, but if you’re interested in jobs working on WordPress, Drupal, or MediaWiki, knowing PHP is a prerequisite. And given that there’s many jobs in those areas, I’d still say it’s a good skill for a freelancer to have. That said, I wouldn’t begin to think of starting a new project in PHP, only to maintain existing PHP code.

I truly agree with going with NodeJS and MongoDB.

I prefer .NET or nodeJS for backend. I’m mostly working in .NET and I prefer C# over JavaScript, but both has ups and downs.
PHP feels like a language with a saturated market, it’s existed for a long time and as a PHP dev you will have more competition in the market. I would recommend picking up node or core instead as backend langugage.