Is Physics necessary for Software Engineering

I’m currently in my last year and I’m in AS level and I’m trying to decide whether to stay in Physics or change to English. That’s basically what they are making me choose between. I’m not good at physics at all and I feel it’s pointless for me to stay there.
Please help me decide.

Since I can’t decide for you I’ll complicate things further :slight_smile:

Is Technical Writing an English option?

Sounds like your GPA might be better served by English.

Lots of software models the real world based on physics (and you get a healthy dose of algorithmic thinking). Can’t model what you don’t understand.

Physics dont directly translate to coding but it will develop ur brain in such ways that it will vastly improve your problem solving skills.

If in doubt, consult a teacher

I think physics would help more, though the physics A level is a lot less mathematical than it should be IMO

Ultimately it probably won’t even matter which you take, even though it seems like a big decision for you right now. Even if there was a “wrong” choice between those two you’d still be able to become a software engineer if that’s the career path you decide to pursue

Yeah, as mentioned, physics could be beneficial. There are probably a lot of SEs out there who haven’t studied physics, but a lot of us are into science and math. The way you break down a problem in experiments is a very useful way to learn how to think. As mentioned, some technical writing skills couldn’t hurt either.

So apart from enhancing my problem solving skills there isn’t anything to it right?

Obviously if you plan to code something physics-related, like a physics engine for a game, then physics may be directly relevant.

i could imagine a use case where you may want to know how much force you can bash your head on the keyboard without breaking it.

Problem solving, a deeper understanding of the universe…