Is Self-Taught Enough As Long as You Have the Skills?

I’m 18, can’t afford college, and I just quit my steel fabrication job working 12 hours a day to learn to code. Is it possible to be employable in less than a year if I put in the work? I’m working another job now but I can set aside 6 hours a day to learn.

1. Without a college degree, some jobs will out of the question due to automatic filtering of resumes. You could be Mark Zuckerberg and be denied due to the “system”. This doesn’t mean all jobs are off the table, even the ones who require a college degree could be applied for. Nothing beats raw experience.
  2. Less than a year is a limited time-span, which means what and how you learn is more important than anything. Simply put, there is a lot to learn, and even if you where able to suck up 100% of everything you study, you still will lack experience. Nothing beats raw experience.
  3. Networking is just as important as skills when it comes to finding a job, you can be an amazing fresh new developer, but if you cant find or get any jobs you will be making just as much money as anyone else who is unemployed (0$).
  4. Nothing beats raw experience. I say this because if your just starting out, and have a limited time-frame to learn, you need to spend your time wisely to make yourself hireable. Going from 0 to hero in 6 months is totally possible, but you need to focus learning what you want to do so you can get as much experience from actually working on stuff. This is especially true with those without degrees, as the a degree gets your through the door in most cases, without it you need to rely on networking, skills and experience to get the job.