Is some amount of refactoring implicit into all programming?

Hi all! As most of us programmers I’m still learning to code, following my own journey and as much as I’ve tried to use the patterns that I’ve learnt to the best of my abilities and taking into account that I still need to improve in the software design patterns arena, I’ve had the feeling that some refactoring is always needed. Do you agree?

If so, might it be for some other reason other than programmers learning stage or skills level or might this be an inherent phenomenon from the complexities of programming or the diverse nature of the problems we need to address for the wide range of possible use cases.

If code is still under active development (new versions are being created, updates released, etc) then you’ll always have opportunities to refactor. Sometimes you are just recognizing better ways to do something . Sometimes the changes that have happened since a piece of code was written means that it’s no longer optimal. Sometimes you are updating some piece of the technology that you are using.

2 Likes

Thank you so much for your response @ArielLeslie Let me also ask. Is it then safe to assume that we must also adapt our coding style not only to be SOLID, DRY and Test Driven, but to also take refactoring into account? So that it makes our refactoring easier in the future?

Also, is there any good resources you know to expand on this and learn more about it?

You definitely want to write code to be kind to future developers, including yourself. I don’t know of any resources off the top of my head, but I’m sure that there are some good technical op-eds on the subject if you dig around.

2 Likes

FWIW, I’d focus more on writing code that

1. works

2. you verify works

3. you can change in the future