Is this project too advanced for a beginner?

Hi all! So basically someone I know from a Facebook group posted about an open position at his company. I asked him about the position and told him I’m still at the beginning and asked if it’s relevant, so he sent me his phone number and asked me to call him.

I called and he asked me what’s my knowledge level, and I said I’m a beginner, so he told me he will send me an “exercise” and asked for my email. This “exercise” turned out to be an entire project, and it seems it’s pretty advanced. The project is to build a Windows Paint clone as a web app (though more simplified with just the basic features). In addition, the app has to record what you draw on the canvas for 1 minute once you click a button, and at the end of the minute you get a new button, and when you click it the canvas should show an animation of what you drew. He also wants to know how long it took me to build it (which obviously will be long).

I think it’s too advanced for a beginner. Should I try nonetheless or should I thank him for the opportunity and try it later when I develop my skills a bit more?

2 Likes

At least give a shot. Many times recruiter is not looking for the skill but rather your ability to take challenges and put efforts into it.

4 Likes

A similar project is outlined in Eloquent JavaScript Chapter 19 to give you some ideas on how to tackle it.
http://eloquentjavascript.net/19_paint.html

4 Likes

@cedaus I’m glad I did. Seems I underestimated myself a bit, it’s actually going rather well but requiring a ton of research. Looks like I’m gonna finish this project after all, which is good nonetheless for the experience (and possibly for portfolio), regardless of whether I get the job. It’s fun though I must admit, been working on it for about 9-10 hours (with breaks of course) and still not bored, lol.

@s_coder Thanks for the link, it give me some ideas on how to go about it. :slight_smile:

5 Likes