Javascript Books for Absolute Beginners/Strugglers

Javascript is my kryptonite, and after reading through various forums here and elsewhere, it seems to trip up a lot of other people, too. I have tried numerous books that were recommended to beginners and was completely lost before finishing chapter one. A lot of them seem to assume that you already have SOME programming experience and should know why this does this and how to make certain things happen right off the bat.

I am looking for recommendations for books for absolute beginners and for people who struggle with Javascript, for those who want to understand how and why they should do something a certain way so they can figure out the problem themselves, without having to google everything every five seconds.

My personal recommendation to anyone else in the same boat: Right now, I’m working my way through Head First Javascript which is great (though I definitely recommend getting the print book rather than the ebook). It’s all in the layout. I love the notes scribbled next to the code explaining the vernacular and why they’re doing something a certain way, the Q&A sections are super helpful, and the challenges are not only fun, but walk you through writing code that you will actually use later on (though probably for more serious projects than comparing bubble solutions). If you’re struggling with the basics, check out their online pages (the have sample .pdf pages and an online version labelled Safari Books Online over on the right sidebar) and see if this book helps.

Any other suggestions for those starting from scratch? Or for those on the brink of giving up?

4 Likes

I’m not exactly a beginner in JS, but as I started to work on my JS Calculator project I felt that I’m lacking some fundamental JS knowledge. So right now I’m going through “You Don’t Know JS” and then I’m planning to read “Eloquent JavaScript”.

Also this channel helped me understand some tricky JS functions (reduce, map, filter)

2 Likes