Just finished my Tribute Page for my First Project just want some thoughts

I am brand new to coding and haven’t had any experience until I started here recently and have had some trouble getting my tribute page to look as good as I wanted it to. I would like some feedback to see if there’s something I’m not thinking about or if there’s something I’m missing that can be fixed or improved on.

I was trying to take my time and make it look as good as I could because I notice a lot of people use their Tribute Page in there projects on their resumes so I wanted to do a good job on my first project incase future employers decide to look at it a year or two down the road.

any help or advice would be super appreciated. Thank you all in advance

Aaron

Hi @arguitarman !

Welcome to the forum!

I personally think that your projects you showcase for employers should be more involved than the tribute page.

You will get there when you are building more complex pages :grinning:

But you are just starting out.
I would just focus on the learning aspect right now and worry about employers later. :grinning:

Just a few things.

The text is hard to read for me.
I would suggest adding a linear gradient over the background images.

For example:

#main {
        background: linear-gradient(rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.612), rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.612)), url('https://i.postimg.cc/0yjy1Hb6/john-salvino-9-Yubwx-AIpw0-unsplash.jpg');
  background-size: cover;
  background-repeat: no-repeat;
  text-align: center;
  color: white;
  border: 2px solid black;
}

Instead of

Also the font size could be larger so it is easier to read.

You have a few errors in your html.
Run your code through the html validator

But a couple of the errors I noticed is that you have a few opening main tags.

You only need one opening main tag and one closing tag.

Also you have a few style tags in your code.

I would get rid of the style tags and add your google font imports inside the html settings. (stuff for head section)