Just got my first 6 figure job offer, thank you freeCodeCamp

Just got my first 6 figure job offer, thank you freeCodeCamp

I’ve been developing for over 12 years, mostly doing PHP and custom wordpress themes / plugins. I always loved Javascript but didn’t have the experience to get a job doing much Javascript, instead I usually found myself working with some sort of PHP making just enough to survive.

After completing the freeCodeCamp front end dev certificate as well as a few javascript udemy courses, I was finally knowledgeable enough of Javascript to impress a small startup with a big budget in the healthcare industry. I didn’t even know what the salary was when I applied, as they didn’t have it listed, so I just assumed it wouldn’t be much.

After acing a code test on hackerrank.com and a phone interview that went pretty smoothly, I got an email 2 weeks later saying I was a valuable candidate and they were waiting to hire a UI Architect before they continued with interviews. I told them I just received another offer, which was true ($60K salary with no benefits and no signing bonus), and asked them what they would be able to offer me if I was hired. They then told me 90 - 130K with benefits and possibly relocation funds and that surprised the hell out of me so I requested to interview right away in order to consider both offers.

I drove down nearly 2 hours to San Diego and had a great time at the interview. I found myself reciting what I learned on freeCodeCamp and being able to fully verbally explain how a front end Javascript framework would work with their startup Saas product in essentially pseudo code. Needless to say the hiring manager could tell I knew my shit, and seemed excited to finally meet someone with my knowledge.

A couple hours later after I drove back home, I get a call from the manager asking me a couple personal questions and then told me I would get a letter from the COO within 24 hours with a written offer.