Just got my first Developer job!

Hello people! I’m a registered nurse but personal trainer by profession. Since 2012, before I decided to become a personal trainer, I thought of studying programming and apply for a programmer position. I tried many learning resources but failed because whenever I got stuck in some topic I always think this thing is not for me.

From 2012 to 2015, I tried html, css, javascript, php, java, python. I studied on and off. It was really hard studying on my own because there is no one to guide me what to do. Whenever I watch youtube tutorials, I understood the topic but I did not build projects.

June 2015, I enrolled my self in an open-university for a 1 year IT course. I finished it march 2016. Unfortunately, it was all self study. and each subject lasts only 8 hours (what can you learn in 8hours?). It was a mistake.

March 2016, I finished the IT course, resigned from my personal training job and focused on studying more (like more html,css,js,java etc).

August 2016, I tried FCC. built the tribute page, and the portfolio page. During this time, I also enrolled in edx.org algebra class. This same month, I sent resume from an online jobs board. I thought I need a job because I don’t want to be broke by december.

Just last week, a company contacted me for an interview and I went to them the next day. I was nervous. The first interview was pretty basic (information about myself). Then test (the hard part, math, logic, advance logic, and basic algorithm on paper). Fortunately, I passed. got 3mistakes on math, 2 mistakes on logic, and perfected the advance logic, the algorithm was also good enough. For the second interview, I was asked what projects I have been doing, I just said showed them my codepen (tribute, portfolio). I also passed the third interview.