Learning React and TypeScript?

Hello there. I hope this is the right thread.

Anyway I have a problem and I would like to have your opinion. I’m a PHP Developer and in my current job I have to work with React and Typescript.

I don’t know why, but I am unable to create even the easiest app in React by myself without tutorials. I have been learning React for about 3 days I guess. But this thing won’t get in my head.

Could you give me some advice to learn React? I don’t know why, but I’m just more comfortable with PHP syntax and all this magic in React doesn’t give a sense for me.

Thank you and happy coding!

1 Like

Hey there,

I would not expect anyone to create anything in React after only 3 days. At this point, I would expect someone to be looking at others’ work - tutorials included - for almost everything.

I would not be so hard on yourself about this. React is a specific library (I want to say framework, but this is mixed), and is quirky in its unique way.

I am not very familiar with PHP, so I cannot describe React in those terms, but if you are comfortable with JS, then I always recommend this video:
Deconstructing React || Tejas Kumar - YouTube

It goes a bit deeper into the inner workings of React, and I find the style it is presented as entertaining (which is always a plus, in my books).

In case you were unaware, freeCodeCamp has a course on React: Front End Development Libraries | freeCodeCamp.org
It is considered out-dated, as it teaches class-based components (as opposed to functional components w/ hooks). Otherwise, it is just a nice way to walk through common concepts to React.

Hope this helps

Hey Alex,

Most concepts are new for developers with different backgrounds.
Read the docs for at least 1 week. Build the Tic Tac Toe from the tutorial.
Then try to rebuild it just with the explanations, not looking at the code.

2 Likes