Linking to a specific section of another page is NOT working (HTML). Going nuts!

Hello everyone, here is my problem : I want to create a “back” link to the portfolio section of my index.html when the user click on a project.
On my index.html I have all my sections and I have named each section with an ID. On the homepage, the link to the portfolio section looks like this:
<a href='index.html#portfolio' data-section='portfolio' >PORTFOLIO</a>

The portfolio section on the index.html begins like this:
<section id='portfolio' class='portfolio-section section' >

And the link that I want to create on each project page looks like this:
<a href='index.html#portfolio'>BACK</a>

It doesn’t work : it returns to the homepage instead of the portfolio section… I would appreciate some help and advices because I am stuck at this point :frowning: Thank you in advance,

G.

Do you have this on codepen, or somewhere public?

I’ve hosted it on netlify here gloriafolidis-ecv(dot)com (since i am new to the forum I cannot share links yet…) how can I share my code with you ?

Lol you just did. I can go on there, and view source. :wink:

So, I think I’m figuring some of what’s going on. It’s not so simple as “hey, show the portfolio section!” because you use transitions to display those sections, and otherwise, they’re hidden.

I think, given that you’re using jQuery, you may need to do a slightly hacky workaround. Here’s the logic you’d need to use:

1. instead of the hash (the #portfolio bit) on the returning pages going to the section, set the hash to the value of the data-section attribute for the link from your home page.
  2. When the index page has loaded, check the window.location.hash – if it has a value, then use that to select the link. something like
  let theHash = window.location.hash.splice(0, 1) // remove the leading hashmark.
    let myLink = $(\`.front-person-links a[data-section='${theHash}' ]\`);