Looking for feedback on first project: comparing newspaper endorsements

This is my first project created from scratch, designed to compare endorsements from two Seattle newspapers. Any feedback on the feel/appearance of the site or the state of the source code would be greatly appreciated .

Developed with HTML, SCSS, and JS. Built with Snowpack.

Live here: https://c29bbb1.netlify.app/

Source code

It looks pretty good.

In terms of the code, the only thing I can find that I don’t like is that the hover event on the rows on the left. To me that is weird UX. Why does the person’s title get highlighted? Why is the highlight the same as for the currently selected one? I would rather not have that, but have the pointer change to make it clear that something is selectable.

But still, it looks good.

I briefly scanned over the code and nothing popped out to me as problematic. The only thing is that you should look at breaking some of those files apart. I mean, 1500 lines is kind of long for a JS file. I start to panic whenever anything gets over 100 and 200 is way too long for my taste. I don’t know the library you’re using, but there should be a way to do it and doing so often improves your thinking about the code and makes it easier to work on.

But still, it looks very nice.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback.

I would rather not have that, but have the pointer change to make it clear that something is selectable.

So a hand pointer then? I originally considered that, but decided against it after looking into it.

On splitting the code: in order to avoid document.querySelector() being constantly called inside functions to fetch the same elements over and over, I used globals instead, which makes it difficult to sever functions from the file.

(Sidenote, create-react-app is 1151 lines long, is that still too much?)