My expirience with first job interview, project

Hello everyone,
I’m pretty new to programming (7 months of expirience, mostly with React framework) and I have applied to a job, I sent the portfolio page with my react projects, in response I got the task I needed to do, a fullstack web application, with the node.js(preferably in the NEST framework) set for the backend and the react for the frontend. I also received instructions for making the project in the email. Since backend programming is new to me, it took me about a month to create a project following the instructions, after that I was given the task to create a backend using typescript (preferably in the NEST framework) after I made second application I got a couple of tasks to practice javascript programming logic, few thing in my application to “fix” and scheduled interview with company next week.
This process has been going on for two months now so I wonder if this is too much effort to get a job or is this a standard procedure? Should I look for another company to apply for a job? Thanks for the answers in advance, and sorry for bad english.

HI @Ranko50 !

Most companies in my experience and observation will only ask you to do one take home challenge. Not multiple. Also, it sounds like they are assigning you more tasks to complete before you even get an interview. Plus 2 months of working on take home projects is way to long in my opinion.

IMO, it sounds like they are taking advantage of the fact that you are a new to software developer and really want a job.

For me personally, I would move onto another company.

1 Like

Most companies that use “take home projects” usually give one, with an expected deadline of roughly 1 week. Anything more then that is usually a red flag for both the company and the interviewee. As not only does it require effort on the part of the person applying, but also requires effort on the company to review your materials.