My first Tribute page: Please critique, if u have time

Well, this is my first attempt at coding everything.

I did all the modules in the lesson (Responsive Web Design Certification) and then started the Tribute page.

I immediately realized I had no idea what I was doing… I was trying to make sense of all the things I had to do. “id=main” and so on. I am now “finished” with the page. I am not happy with the way it looks, but it fulfills all the “required” criteria. However, I still do not know the significance of everything I have done.

Anyway, if you have time have a look. I put all the required elements in, but they do not serve a purpose on my page except to pass requirements. If you see something that I need to understand (and obviously do not), please feel free to call me out.

I am not sure if I should submit it. I had to use some code I found in several places to get the look I was trying to get. I don’t know if I am overloaded with unnecessary code now…??

Page here: https://codepen.io/Fletchdad/pen/rNMYbzL

Hey @studiofletch!

I think your page looks good!
There are some things you can change.

That’s my feedback.

Thanks and Happy Coding!

@codely Thanks!!! I need to check responsiveness for phones and tablets. It is on the list!!! I appreciate your input.

1 Like

Hi @studiofletch.

Congratulations upon completing that project. In my opinion, you are doing great if it is your first attempt at coding. I suggest you go over your code line by line, removing and adding things. Breaking the already existing code at the same time paying attention to the effects of doing that to your page. It will help you understand what the code is doing there.

In addition to what @codely pointed out, I suggest you take note of the following.