My portfolio (some help needed)

I have been working on my portfolio all day. It is my first time really working with bootstrap. I struggled to figure it all out on my own, so I took a template code, and have broken it down and started tweaking it up to be my own, just so I can get a better feel for bootstrap.

here it is…
https://codepen.io/mbert86/pen/RZpzLd

I am struggling wit ha few things…

#1 - I am having trouble with the links. I tried linking them to each div, and I have, but it takes me to the bottom of each div instead of the top

#2 - I am trying to change the hover color on the navbar links, but no luck. I can figure that out with basic css, but bootstrap is throwing me off…I dont want to give up on that though because it has been a good learning experience

anyway…this is a work in progress, so I welcome any feedback

Thank you!!

Hey

It looks nice so far, keep going. Let’s get down to things you have problems with:

#1 - it is taking you to the right place, it will take you to an anchor meaning it will scroll to the place where your anchor of given ID is at the very top of your viewport. This means your anchor is at y = 0, making it fall behind your menu. You could mitigate that either using JavaScript scrolling or placing your anchor element higher above the place you want to scroll to. One more thing, your anchor should have ID, not name.

#2 - this is hard, I’ve been there myself :slight_smile:. It’s because bootstrap styles have higher priority. You should inspect how bootstrap styles are applied to menu links and re-create the inheritance chain (nested selectors / classes) in your custom styles.

1 Like

Thank you for the tips. I guess it makes sense why I havent figured those 2 things out yet, as I have not learned them :smiley:

Bootstrap doesn’t automatically have higher priority — bootstrap.min.css is just a normal CSS file like any other.