My Situation - Ask for Advice

Hello community, I would like to ask some advice about my situation and what I could do in this case, the thing is that I am from Venezuela and the situation here is not good at all. Last year I entered the university and everything was relatively normal until the pandemic arrived, everything stopped and now the future is uncertainand, so I have not been able to advance through that medium (surely this will continue for one or two more years, optimistically), I would like to work in the gaming industry, that is my ultimate goal, but lately what catches my attention is to be able to ensure a future with a good work in any field. I found this place and I have seen a lot about what is said about being self-taught and the opportunities that can be achieved by studying on these online platforms but I do not know what I should do exactly.

If you have any recommendation, advice, guide or comment, it will be pleasantly received. Thanks

1 Like

I’m sorry about your situation. It’s been a rough year for everyone, but it sounds like it’s hit you a little harder.

Yeah, it makes sense - you’re stuck at home, why not learn something?

You mention the gaming industry. The FCC program is focussed on web development so it may not be the best path. There may be some overlap, but when I think of hardcore games, I would expect them to be written in languages like C, C++, or C# - we don’t teach any of those here. There are simpler, browser based games and a gaming company needs a web site, so there might be some overlap, depending on what you want to do. I’m no expert in game coding, but that’s my understanding.