Need help about this Javascript code

I’m a newbie and struggling…
Can anyone tell me what’s wrong with my code?

var a = ["zero", "one", "two", "three"];
for (var i in a) {
  var sliced = a.slice(i+1);
  console.log(sliced);
}

the log shows: [“one”, “two”, “three”], [], [], [].
but what I mean to do, is to get: [“one”, “two”, “three”], [“two”, “three”], [“three”], [].

Why my code not work? And how should I code? Thanks a lot.

I am not super well versed in the nuances of “for…in” syntax vs a traditional for loop, but I believe the problem is arising from the fact that “for…in” syntax “iterates over the enumerable properties of an object, in arbitrary order.” In other words, by using “for…in,” your code is being applied to every element in the array, but not necessarily in sequential order. Your desired result depends on ordered iteration, which a traditional for-loop provides via its built-in incrementation. The following should do what you want:

var a = ["zero", "one", "two", "three"];
for (var i = 0; i < a.length; i++) {
  var sliced = a.slice(i+1);
  console.log(sliced);
}

For more info on “for…in” syntax, check out the MDN entry linked above, as well as this StackOverflow answer on the potential dangers of using “for…in” when trying to iterate over an array (as a relative newbie myself, some of the finer points of the StackOverflow answers went over my head, but it was interesting nonetheless).

i in your for loop is a string, you can see it by adding
console.log(typeof i);
inside your for loop.

So (i+1) will give you 01, 11, 21, 31;

To make your code work you need i to be number. Simplest way:
var sliced = a.slice(+i+1);

1 Like

Declaring a variable inside a loop is not a best practice

why do you say that wilfred?

Because it messes with garbage collection - creates pointers that won’t be reused over time and have to be garbage collected.