Need help for case when num larger than values of elements in array

Tell us what’s happening:
Hello there, I’m currently stuck in the part where if the value of num is the largest value out of all elements in the array then I will have to return the index of the length of the array but somehow I cannot seem to get it right. I’m very new to JS so I don’t know many methods to use hence the long way for sorting the array.

function getIndexToIns(arr, num) {
if (arr.length === 0) {
  return 0;
} else {
  //SORTING
  for (let i = 0; i < arr.length; i++) {
    let temp = 0;
    for (let j = i + 1; j < arr.length; j++) {
      if(arr[j] < arr[i]){
        temp = arr[j];
        arr[j] = arr[i];
        arr[i] = temp;
      }
    }
  }
  for (let j = 0; j < arr.length; j++) {
    if (num <= arr[j]) {
      return j;
    } 
  }
}
}

getIndexToIns([40, 60], 50);

**Your browser information:**

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_15_7) AppleWebKit/605.1.15 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/14.1.1 Safari/605.1.15

Challenge: Where do I Belong

Link to the challenge:

Honestly, you should use the built in sort. It is faster, won’t have bugs, and is way easier for others to read at a glance.

Also, it’s generally frowned upon to modify input arrays. Those changes have impacts outside of your function.

I would use a sorted copy of the array. It is worth Googling the syntax to do so, and I can help you if you can’t find it.

You problem passing this challenge is probably here though. Where should you insert the new element if you have sorted the array?

there is an easier logic to handle this challenge. The following isnt exactly a spoiler, but it will guide you to a way how to solve it easier, write a simpler code.