Need some advice in learning path/language choice etc

Hi there, my name is Coen. I’m not a programmer. I am a graphic designer. I want to know if someone can give me some advice on the following;

Problem: I want to know how many different characters there are in a certain text. Including punctuations, numbers, spaces etc. I need some sort of input field and output field. The output field has to be in alphabetical order. Also characters need to be separated in upper and lowercase. At first I want to be able to set this up so that it’s available online. If all goes well I want to be able to make this available as a program for Mac/PC/Android and iOs. (but that’s probably for later concern).

What I also want to achieve is to make the user able of certain restrictions; for instance, I have a box full of letter stamps. I know how many pieces of each character I have in the box. When I use the tool to count my characters in a certain piece of text, I want see directly if I’m short of certain characters and how many characters of a certain glyph I have left in my box.

Advice: Can someone give me a hint in what direction I need to go in choosing a programming language to get this done? I’m totally new to programming and don’t know anything about code, making programs, apps, queries, data bases etc etc. What I can do is set up a simple website where I can test things out.

Thank you in advance and if there are any questions, just ask.

Cheers, Coen.

For anything web related, you absolutely must learn JavaScript, and it is the perfect language for accomplishing what you are describing: setting up a neat site, with an input area for typing the text, and an output area, which in real time gives you the desired output, along with a few check-boxes you can turn on/off to tweak with the desired settings.