Need work/life balance, career advice

Hi, I’m new to this forum. I desperately need some advice/suggestion on my current situation. I’m a UX designer and working from home since the COVID situation began. But I am always secretly wishing to move towards the programming path because I enjoy the aspect of both design and development.
The problem is my employer also pressurizes me to work on marketing and branding, which I don’t really enjoy as much as I do UX. However since I have a background as an illustrator, I help as much as I can. But my employer is absolutely insincere about time management. Only shows up with buckets of absurd changes end of the day before the deadline after being absent whole day. And for that I have to pull almost 11 hours shift every day. Overtimes are not paid. Whole day I put my head to ux and then at the end I scratch my head with changes for marketing. I never enjoyed it since it’s a lot of guess work about what the client likes and not thorough like UX.
No matter when I join work, I can never leave before 10.5 or 11 hours. To migrate to programming path, I need to invest ample amount of time on self studies and courses, which I can’t do because after pulling 11 hours shifts, I am literally dead tired. And two weekends are not enough. I am grateful for having a job in this situation but after 11 hours, I feel like being taken advantage of.
I’m not very sure about talking about it with my employer since I’m due for an annual increment, in a month and I don’t want to annoy her since she has not been not very considerate to begin with judging by the everyday behavior. Any idea how to pull my work life on track and make time for studies?
Any suggestion or advice are welcome. And thank you in advance and for going through the long post.

1 Like

Don’t leave your job. This is the worst case and things are bumpy in other positions too!
it’s so damn hard to get a good job.