New Generation Developer (success story)

Changing Times

The software development industry has been gaining a lot of attention lately, and for good reason. With the opportunity to make extremely good money with the flexibility of working from home, there is no question why more and more young individuals are becoming interested. But what is the realistic path to get there? The general consensus will tell you to pursue a computer science degree, or something closely related. But as college tuition skyrockets every year, and more students rack on thousands of dollars in debt… I believe it should be strongly encouraged to explore other options.

Lazy Gen Z

I graduated high school in 2017, with an initial plan to acquire a bachelor’s degree in computer science. I hadn’t really questioned going to college, because everything around me displayed it as the necessary next step. It truly seemed like the only option. I had been suffering from burnout my senior year of high school, and the idea of moving onto college just to take another 2 year of basic level classes was a bit depressing. But nonetheless, I enrolled in my local community college and began the journey.
Only one semester in, I knew I wouldn’t be able to force myself to continue for another 4 years. It’s not that I was lazy, but the classroom environment had really taken a toll on me. I was quick to express my feelings with my parents. I explained to them that I was extremely interested in computer science, but I couldn’t force myself to attend these basic classes for another 2 years. It just seemed like an extreme waste of time and money.
My mom was the one who actually brought up the idea to see if any “trade schools” existed for coding. Some type of education platform that would teach me coding only, and not force me to take any random classes. A quick google search later, I had stumbled on the term coding bootcamps.

My Experience at bootcamp