New To Coding - Career prospects without schooling

I am new to this industry and endeavor.

I am wondering if I can get at least a minimum wage job just starting out in this industry without any schooling or a degree or diploma. Provided, that I show my competence and ability in creating programs from scratch in a portfolio or resume form.

For instance, if I have a resume detailing all the programs I have created or worked on. Is that good enough to land a job or do I need to invest time in a degree, which at this point in my life is not an option, because I do not have the funds.

Thank you.

Synthbeats

Yeah, it is possible to get a job without a degree. I’m on my phone, so I can’t write a long reply, but I’d recommend searching on the forum for topics that include the phrase ‘no degree’.

short answer is yes, show what you can do, you can get a job, that doesn’t mean that it is easy, or immediate. Development is one of the few fields where you can break in as self-taught.

look all the other posts in this suborum for personal stories

1 Like

Thank you kind sir, much appreciated for your efforts.

Broadly speaking, programming doesn’t have a “low pay for low experience” path to on-the-job developement. I know that other skilled labor jobs have this, especially in craftsman fields with a long tradition of apprenticeship. Programming doesn’t. The closest thing is internships for students which are still more of a “not-great pay for not-much experience” in that they pay more than minimum wage and still require interviews, skills tests, and proof of competency. When you apply for a job, you may not have experience in all of the tools that they use, but you need to be able to prove that you have the skills to do the job.