Newbie JS learner

I’m a newbie and finding it increasingly hard to do this.I was learning HTML & CSS for a while, but i kept hearing “Those aren’t languages. Learn a real language if you want to be considered a programmer”. Before i went into this i had been reading blogs and posts saying patience is key. That it’d be tough, but with enough patience, you could do it. But i wasn’t expecting it to feel this overwhelming this early. I mean, i just started learning the syntax properly on Monday of this week and already i feel worthless as crap. Like if i can’t grasp it this early, i never will. I expected hurdles. I expected frustration. But my goodness, i didn’t think i’d be wanting to kill myself this early.

It’s brand new. You don’t have any context yet for what you’re learning. You don’t have a lot of previous knowledge to build on yet.

1 Like

I would not worry about not grasping the syntax immediately. Just take a break if you need it. I did that plenty of times learning JS from python.

I don’t believe patience is the right word. I believe the right word is grit.

You need patience to watch paint dry. You need patience to deal with a child throwing a tantrum. You need patience when the person in front of you is driving way to slow. Patience is where you wait for a better outcome.

You need grit to deal with unknown syntax and learning a bunch of concepts at once while feeling like you have 0 idea of WTF is going on. You need grit to stick with it after spending several hours debugging your code only to find it was a typo. You need grit to take a leap of faith every time you hit “run”, even though your damn well sure it wont work this time, but you still hit that button anyways.

Patience rewards with in-action over-time, grit rewards effort over time.