No College Degree. Will I Ever Be Able to Get a Job?

I’ve been practicing here multiple hours a day every day and doing Codewars besides. I’m learning at a very steady rate and I’m actually enjoying it immensely! My addiction to video games suddenly vanished and I’m now addicted to coding. It’s been only 2 weeks though so I’m a complete beginner still and the stage of looking for jobs is still far ahead.

On to the point of the topic. I failed out of college because I was severely depressed for several years and had no motivation to do anything productive in my life until recently. This site definitely helped breathe life back into me.

I decided to search for coding related internships and jobs online in my country (Egypt) out of curiosity, only to find out that all of them without a single exception required a college degree. Is what I’m doing now pointless? Will I never be able to have a job still regardless of how skilled I might eventually get? Also, what are my chances of ever working abroad? Would a company abroad be willing to hire a person with no college degree? Working and living abroad is the biggest dream of mine currently…

2 Likes

Hey,
Don’t feel discouraged. There are plenty of remote jobs available for web developers. These jobs are only going to increase now, thanks to COVID-19. You could always try applying for them.
In the worst-case scenario, you could try alternative sources of income like freelancing.
Just focus on giving your best right now. Good Luck! :slight_smile:

5 Likes

My coding uncle said that if you know what you are doing, the newer companies don’t give a crap if you have a degree or not. Just be confident and you will be fine.
By the way, I have been straight down your path no less than a few months ago. I cried myself to sleep because I didn’t know if I would ever have a career.

5 Likes

It’s significantly easier to get a STEM job with a degree but not having a degree does not necessarily prevent your from getting a STEM job.