No One Will Hire Me

Hi,

Heads up: This is not so related to programming, but to general IT/InfoSec/Cloud.

My background is not in tech. I have a degree in political science and a master’s in public administration. Long story short, I always wanted to work with/in tech and hadn’t found my way to it when I was younger because of circumstances. Now as an adult, I am finally looking to make my way into the industry.

Last summer, I started messing around with Python and got sidetracked. Then, toward the end of the year, I re-focused and started with freeCodeCamp with the hopes of getting into tech as a programmer. I was able to get my certificate for completing the Responsive Web Design curriculum. Shortly thereafter, I met someone who is working in the cloud industry and who ended up becoming a mentor to me. Then, I pivoted and decided to focus on integrating my programming knowledge with cloud computing. {I am particularly interested in cybersecurity and its intersection with cloud computing.} So, I studied my ass off and got my AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner certificate. Now I am studying for the CompTIA Security+ exam.

I have been out of work for 7 months. Once I felt ready, I switched up my LinkedIn and resume and “teched it out” to match my new career objectives, so I can’t go back to doing random/seemingly pointless administrative work. I might be fairly new to the game, but I am really having trouble getting any kind of traction. I have landed a few interviews through connections and all have failed because everyone wants “at least one year of experience.” That’s the new fad.

What do you all think I am missing here? Appreciate the feedback because every time I take a hit I lose some steam. Thanks.

1 Like