Palindromes - half done is well begun

I know the subject is really the other way around but describes my situation.

So I really thought this one out. I really waited until I felt I had made my best effort before asking for help. And I have looked at another solution, but it was not helpful to me even though it was a mostly working solution. I’d like to learn something here so thanks in advance for your patience. My Code:

function palindrome(str) {
  // Good luck!
  //  The following is the/a correct regex to strip non-alphanumeric chars from an input string:

var palintest = str;
  palintest.replace(/\W/g, '');
  palintest.toLowerCase();
  var strReverse = str.split().reverse().join();

if (str === strReverse){
    return true;
  } else {
    return false;
  }

}

palindrome("eye");

Gee, can you tell I’m a novice? So my reasoning was as follows.

First I needed a place to store the value of str so I created the variable palintest
Next the problem was to remove all non alphanumeric characters from str. I found this statement in a Google Search:
palintest.replace(/\W/g, ''); Now, one thing I’d like to know is the significance or translation of /\W/g, All I really understand is that it sort of works.
Next I had to make all the characters lowercase and I followed the link in the exercise to get this;
palintest.toLowerCase();

Then I harkened back to a previous lesson on reversing a string where I got this: var strReverse = str.split().reverse().join();

Then I reasoned that if str equaled its reverse then that’s a palindrome. And that part seems to work pretty well. At least for returning true. The only string that should have returned true and didn’t was: palindrome(“My age is 0, 0 si ega ym.”) and that has spaces in it. So a clue there.

not a palindrome returned false as it should have but ‘nope’ did not.

So I need some enlightenment. Thanks in advance.

luciano991