Portfolio website review

Hey guys, I have created a portfolio website using HTML and CSS and deployed to netlify. I am a software engineer with more than 7 years of experience with expertise in Data Science technologies and I have been trying to find a job in the field of data science for quite some time but could not find one. Please do take a look at my site and let me know if you have any feedback.

https://www.jinudaniel.com/

2 Likes

Hello Jinu.

Portfolio looks well done. One thing to add: Your My Work section with the pictures means little to nothing. I suggest adding text over the image when the cursor hovers over the images.

Keep it up.

Thank you. I had tried to add a title on the hover of the image but could not accomplish this. I will try again and see if I am able to do this.

Itā€™s a nice looking page.

1. I agree that the project images should have some information attached to them. It doesnā€™t have to be hover text it can also just be some text at the bottom (or side) of each picture.

2. Iā€™d give the .portfolio grid some spacing. And give the images width: 100% so they take up the full grid cell so you donā€™t get the background color on the right side when the grid is stacked fully.

.portfolio {
  display: grid;
  grid-template-columns: repeat(auto-fit, minmax(320px, 1fr));
  max-width: 1200px;
  margin: auto;
  gap: 20px;
}
  1. I would probably make the project links open in a new tab.

2. I feel like the legibility of some text can be improved. For the text with the background image I can see you tested using background-blend-mode so I guess you also think it can be made less distracting. You can try editing the image or you can make it an element so you can blur it a bit using a CSS filter. For the text on the about-me section, it is a very wispy font and you have to be careful with both the color and size. I would bump up the size a little and maybe move the dark gray a little closer to black.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback.