Profile Lookup problem optimization

Hello World!
I’m a newbie, so please bear with me for this.
I’m really struggling with JS. Things seem to have gone from 0 to 100 pretty fast.
After viewing the video and after reading a few posts about this problem (which I’d never be able to solve this without), I reached this implementation.
It works.
The thing is: can it be more optimized? And why was the for loop necessary to begin with?

// Setup
const contacts = [
  {
    firstName: "Akira",
    lastName: "Laine",
    number: "0543236543",
  },
  {
    firstName: "Harry",
    lastName: "Potter",
    number: "0994372684",
  },
  {
    firstName: "Sherlock",
    lastName: "Holmes",
    number: "0487345643",
  },
  {
    firstName: "Kristian",
    lastName: "Vos",
    number: "unknown",
  },
];

function lookUpProfile(name, prop) {
  // Only change code below this line
for (let i = 0; i < contacts.length; i++)
  {
    if (name === contacts[i].firstName)
    {
      if (contacts[i].hasOwnProperty(prop))
      {
        return contacts[i][prop];
      }
      else
      {
        return "No such property";
      }
    }  
  }
  return "No such contact";
  // Only change code above this line
}

lookUpProfile("Akira", "likes");

We have blurred this solution (with [spoiler][/spoiler] tags) so that users who have not completed this challenge can read the discussion in this thread without giving away the solution.

OK, sorry about that. It was my first post. Won’t happen again :slight_smile:

I’m really struggling with JS. Things seem to have gone from 0 to 100 pretty fast.

That’s a very normal feeling - you’re not alone.

The thing is: can it be more optimized?

What do you mean by “optimized”? Do you mean more efficient in terms of processing? I don’t see how. This is an O(n) solution and unless it’s already hashed or sorted or something, you can’t search an array of data any faster, not that I can see.