Programme does't work

Hey guys, a newbie here! :slight_smile:

i’m trying to create a programme that given a random number should check if one of the two guesses nailed it. In case none of the options are correct the programme should tell which one got closer to the random number.

so far I’ve created the following:

var playerOne = 5;
var playerTwo = 4;
var casual = Math.floor(Math.random() * (100-1) + 1);
var wrongOne = (playerOne != casual);
var wrongTwo = (playerTwo != casual);
var a = (casual - playerOne);
var b = (casual - playerTwo);
var closer0ne = (a < b);
var closerTwo = (a > b);

console.log("Casual number is: " + casual);
console.log("Player one choose the number: " + playerOne);
console.log("Player two choose the number: " + playerTwo);

if (playerOne === casual) {
  console.log("Well done player one! you nailed it!");
}
if (playerTwo === casual) {
  console.log("Well done player two! you nailed it!");
}
else if (wrongOne) { 
  if (closer0ne) {
    console.log("No one guess it right, but player one is the one got closer!");
}
}
else if (wrongTwo) {
  if (closerTwo){
  console.log("No one guess it right, but player two is the one got closer!");
}
}

As said i’m learning, I’m ok with the random number, I’m ok in checking if one of the answer is correct but i can’t process the right code to check which numbers is the closer. Any suggestion please?

Thanks a lot!

P.S. I probably should have use less variables and trying to make it shorter but this way of breaking it down I thought it’d have been easier to sorted out.

I see a couple of problems.

First of all, you have a variable called “closer0ne” that uses the number zero instead of the letter “O” - that is really “dangerous” - in the sense that one of your coworkers will slash your tires because they spent 2 hours trying to debug something.

The other problem is that your logic here: