Promises execution javascript

I am new to promises, so having little confusion in understanding why it’s giving output the way it is giving.

let p1= new Promise((resolve,reject)=>{
  resolve('foo');
})
let p2= new Promise((resolve,reject)=>{
  reject('bar');
})

console.log('bip')

p1.then(val=>{
  console.log(val)
  return p2
})
.then(
  console.log('baz')
)
.catch(err=>{
  console.log(err)
})
console.log('bop')

The output is

bip
baz
bop
foo
bar

I see console.log statements are getting printed before all promise statements but why is that. and why is the log statement printing ‘baz’ also getting printing first while being in .then statement?

Thanks for reading

This is from the MDN web docs for Promise.prototype.then():

“Once a Promise is fulfilled or rejected, the respective handler function ( onFulfilled or onRejected ) will be called asynchronously (scheduled in the current thread loop).”

This means that JS doesn’t stop and wait for your promise handler to run, it continues on as normal, and the handler will eventually be executed when its turn comes, but it has to wait for its turn in line in the event loop. So the console.log at the very bottom is executed before the console.log in the first then method because by the time JS gets to the handler for the first then statement waiting to be executed it has already executed the console.log at the bottom. Apparently the process of scheduling the handler takes enough time that it is placed in the event loop after the call to the console.log at the bottom. If you want ‘bop’ to be printed after ‘foo’ then you need to move the console.log at the bottom into the first then statement.

A traditional then statement looks something like (I’m leaving out the rejection handler because we all use catch now):

p.then(value => {
  // fulfillment
})

Look at your second then statement:

.then(
  console.log('baz')
)