Question about Refactor-global-variables-out-of-functions

Tell us what’s happening:
I passed this challenge, but there are things I still don’t understand.

1. why the first parameter (array) that I passed to the add function function add (array, bookName) { } represents the array bookList?
    I say “represents” because when I wanted to make a new copy of the bookList variable I used the spread operator with it => let newArr = […array];
    Same question about the remove function.

2. my second question is the second parameter of the add and remove functions, Bookname. From what I understood, bookName represents the indexes of our bookList array. And as a beginner, I thought that to call the functions and pass them arguments we must write for example: add(arg1, arrg2). Here I saw that new variables have been defined (newBookList, newerBookList, newestBookList), and the argument pass from there represents the second parameter of the function add() and remove(). I don’t understand this.

I just want to clarify that as a beginner I sometimes spend hours on a challenge. Once I pass the challenge, strangely enough, I don’t understand how the code I write works. :sob:

**Your code so far**

// The global variable
var bookList = ["The Hound of the Baskervilles", "On The Electrodynamics of Moving Bodies", "Philosophiæ Naturalis Principia Mathematica", "Disquisitiones Arithmeticae"];

// Change code below this line
function add (array, bookName) {
 let newArr = [...array];
 newArr.push(bookName)
 return newArr;
 //return bookList; 

// Change code above this line
}

// Change code below this line
function remove (firstArr, bookName) {
 let newArr2 = [...firstArr];
 if(newArr2.indexOf(bookName)>= 0) {
   newArr2.splice(newArr2.indexOf(bookName), 1);
 }
  return newArr2;
   // Change code above this line
}

var newBookList = add(bookList, 'A Brief History of Time');
var newerBookList = remove(bookList, 'On The Electrodynamics of Moving Bodies');