Realistic goals for starting fresh?

Good morning!

Just signed up after finding this lovely forum and would love to hear your thoughts! :slight_smile:

I am an unemployed nurse, no CS background, and looking to change careers & hoping to make $80k within 2-3 years.

I have 2-5 hours per weekday to devote to learning.

Is this a reasonable goal?

I am very detail oriented, pragmatic, love patterns and logic, but am weak on aesthetic design.

I am in the research phase of what to pursue - thinking front end, and starting with Python, CSS, HTML - does this sound wise?

I do not want to waste time, and I am willing to work hard.

Please feel free to hit me up with any advice, suggestions, questions, etc. Anything is appreciated! Thanks so much!

C

1 Like

Python is not available on the front-end. The closest you could get is using Python to power your back-end code, but the front-end is locked down to 3 technologies: JavaScript, HTML, CSS.

There are a multitude of options that can go “on-top” of these 3 core technologies, for example React is a library that focuses on building dynamic user interfaces, resulting in you writing in a JS+HTML “hybrid” format calls jsx.

It’s possible, the amount of time you’ll need to commit might need to increase to “catch up” with other sources of developers. Namely a full time college student could spend anywhere from 24-36 hours a week focusing on similar topics as yourself.

Unlike a student, as a self-learning you’ll have more freedom to choose what sort of things you learn. This is both a pro and a con. The good side is you can stay laser focused on whats relevant and ignore what you deem as irrelevant. The bad is that you could end up focusing on inefficient ways of learning, and have to personally hold yourself accountable about how you go about it.