Record Collection Question. WARNING spoiler

While I figured out how to pass the test on record collection I am having trouble understanding why it seems that there are extra steps that shouldn’t be required.

Please take a look at line 43 - 46 of my code that I have in comments to show how my code does not pass the second criteria. If I uncomment that block the code will pass. My question is why? Why do I have to write a condition specifically for tracks while it is the same as all other properties? Should not the code from line 50 to 53 cover the code from 43-46?

I’m a novice coder and lack formal training so I want to hear what you all think? Am I being a “lazy” coder here? Or am I missing something?

The last uncommented else if branch you wrote is both a) incorrect and b) violates the requirement.

a) Incorrect
You set the prop to an empty array with an empty string inside, then immediately after, you override the array with value. So, if value = 5 the tracks will end up being 5 instead of [5]. You are supposed to add on to the tracks not replace it.

b) Violates the requirement
The only prop that should be initialized with empty array is tracks. You are expanding this requirement to any prop. Should album be initialized with an empty array, when collection[id] doesn’t have that prop?

Also, initializing an array with empty string is asked no where on the requirement. If you do this, then every newly created tracks will start with [""] i.e) you waste a single element space and must ignore it whenever you access tracks.

1 Like

Thanks for responding.
a) i see your point but I see my code as valid because this only runs when the property does not exist and when I set the value of the array to a specific value it is only when the array is empty. If the property exist my code before these lines will pick up the slack and push instead of set the value to the array as the last item.