[Regex] Need help with CheckUsername, Test Failed

Tell us what’s happening:
I failed in ’ Your regex should match the string Z97’ test.

Your code so far

let username = "JackOfAllTrades";
let userCheck = /(?=[A-Z]{1,})(^[A-Z]+(?<=[A-Z]{2,})[0-9]*$)/i; // Change this line
let result = userCheck.test(username);

Here’s the explanation of my code, I’m still learning about regex, please correct me if there is something wrong in my explanation, and a hint will be much appreciated.

1. I check the beginning of the string with (?=[A-Z]{1,}) , the expression is to match first character, Because at least the two character in the beginning has to be letter.
  2. And this code :

(^[A-Z]+(?<=[A-Z]{2,})[0-9]*$)

Is to make the expression only match with letter in the beginning, if the expression in poin no. 1 is not matched. The + quantifier is to match [A-Z] 1 or more times, {2,} to match minimum 2 occurences. [0-9]*$ is to match [0-9] zero or more times, $ assertions is for matches the end of the string, because numbers have to be at the end.

I know I didn’t pass ’ Your regex should match the string Z97’ test because, I think ?<=[A-Z]{2,} expression only match minimum two alphabet letter in the beginning. But if I change ?<=[A-Z]{2,} into ?<=[A-Z]{1,} , I got this result :

// running tests Your regex should not match the string

J

Your regex should not match the string

A1

// tests completed

So my question is, based on the output above, in order to pass the test, is it possible to add ‘conditional’ to * quantifier? Like 'if the first character is a letter and it not followed by anything, so the * quantifier doesn’t apply. Also, how to match 'if the string is two characters long, so the 1st and the 2nd character is have to be a alphabet letter? Any hint is appreciated. Thank you.

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:98.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/98.0

Challenge: Restrict Possible Usernames

Link to the challenge: