Request: Honest feedback on CV

Dear Fellow FreeCodeCampers

May I ask for some feedback on my CV? I would greatly appreciate it. There is so much more I’d like to say but, at the end of the day, the companies that this CV gets sent to chooses to see me for an interview or not based on the CV only, so I don’t want to write more here about my personal life. I don’t have a chance to make another impression often (I wonder if we are not a bit behind the times here in South Africa…). I would especially appreciate some feedback from someone who works in software or is a team lead. But all suggestions welcome and please be brutally honest. I’m not easily offended.

PS: I’m in my current software position (a hybrid role) by internal transfer. I’d like to work at a place where coding is 80% or more of what I do . Currently it’s 33% if that much.

Link to the CV: Ruan CV.docx - Google Drive

Sincerely
Ruan Huysen

Hi Ruan,

I’ve been working as a Full-Stack Web Developer for 5 years and I’ve also conducted several interviews for the companies that I worked with.

I’ve reviewed hundreds of CVs and I think I can give you some valuable feedback.
I’ll try to make an ordered list so we can easily refer to each point further down in the discussion.

1. Your picture is not professional. It seems that it has been taken at a party or something like this and your face cannot be fully seen. Try a more professional approach.

2. Don’t specify for how long you’ve been married and how many kids you have. This aspect may be discussed in a laid-back interview down the road.

3. “Introduction: Who is Ruan?” - you’re talking about yourself in 3rd person? This is kind of weird. Try a more professional approach like “About me”. This should suffice.

4. Your “about me” paragraph is waaay too long. Try to keep it simple. Maybe 3-4 sentences.

5. The Certification and Education sections must be at the end of the CV. Work experience is prior.