Same variable name, two different functions

Are both variables(err) somehow going to intervene with each other? Can I use the same name or do I have to name both variables differently?

const getUser = async () => {
  try{
    const user = await getUserDataFromDB();
  }catch(error){
    // Same variable name here!
    const err = [array of errors];
    throw err;
  }
};

const getPost = () => {
  try{
    const post = await getPostDataFromDB();
  }catch(error){
    // Same variable name here!
    const err = [array of errors];
    throw err;
  }
};

const variables are block scoped, you also get an error if you redeclare or reassign them, as you get no error and they are in different blocks there is no issue

sorry block, do you mean as because even though both variables have the same name but they are each in different function(block), so there is going to be no issues? what about let?

sorry english not my first language and javascript beginner here…

thanks

Just read this

these are the blocks in which the two err variables are scoped

let is also block scoped and does not let you redeclare a variable, but let you reassign it

const a = 1;
a = 2; // invalid, error
let b = 2;
b = 3;
let b = 4; // invalid, error
1 Like

so basically in general, if I have two variables with the same name but if both of the them are not in the same scope, it will not cause issues?

and back to the codes, so currently they are in block scope, what about if I do something like this:

const one = () => {
  let/const data = [array of objects];
};

const two= () => {
  let/const data = [array of objects];
};

are both variables still in different scope? (try…catch is removed)

yes, functions are a block of their own

more or less a block is everything delimited by graph parenthesis

It doesn’t matter what you use (var, let, const), they only live inside the scope they are defined in. Like

var foo = 1;
let bar = 2;
const baz = 3;
console.log(foo, bar, baz);

function scopeExample () {