Scheduling your time

Hello everyone, I am kinda new to the community. I’ve been following, but I am posting for the first time ever.

I am already working as a Software Developer for a rather major company, but I entered as an intern and moved to a junior within a year or so, it is all good, no complaints of any kind. However, I still want to learn new stuff, that is mostly not work-related or at least pretty far fetched. There is no debate if I need or want them, it is more of an issue when and how do I find the time to learn them, and how effective it is.

Before landing this job I was working a standard min wage job downtown that had nothing to do with software developing and I have a degree in business that is useless in the software world (mostly). And I found it pretty easy to sit for a half an hour after work, relax and then start learning, either reading a book or doing some tutorial or whatever, for another 2-3, at times even 4-6 hours. The weekends were easy too.

But now that I have landed this job (I am doing mostly frontend react stuff and some backend with Django). I find it frustrating sitting after work and learning new frameworks and programming paradigms. I constantly hit a brick wall when it comes to learning something harder than basic principles. Or even losing my interest to finish the project at all.

And really, I blame it on timing and planning my schedule. I think I am still stuck with the idea that I have to read/learn every single day, even when on vacation.

So I’d like to ask you for some advice (maybe?). How do you plan your free time, when and how do you work/learn/read, etc.? I think, since I don’t have any real life friends that are in the same position or even something similar, that this might help me.

(Also, excuse me if this is not the right place to post this, it seems like it is, but then again, sorry if I am mistaken)

1 Like