Securing a job offer in these tumultuous times

Hello Campers,

First of all, I would like to give you a little bit of background information about me. I graduated in May 2020 with a bachelor’s in CS. However, I did not have any internships. To compensate for the lack of this, I have managed to obtain four certificates from FCC so far (responsive web design, data structures and algorithms in JS, front end libraries, and data visualization). I am currently working on the courses “APIs and Microservices” and the one that involves quality assurance.

Much to my dismay, I have found that many companies are not hiring entry-level software engineers. I even took a break from applying to places (so I could focus on FCC), but alas, many companies do not want recent college graduates to be unemployed for too long. At the same time, the world is getting ravaged by the coronavirus pandemic, so they should be understanding as well.

You see, this is a bit of a catch-22 situation. In light of all of these details, what should I do?

My advice is to study things at the same time as applying for jobs. What works for me is to not apply to jobs every day, because that is a bit tiresome. Allocate some time in the day dedicated to either studying, doing portfolio work, or doing whiteboard exercises. Then maybe one or two days a week, apply to “software engineer” or “web developer” jobs. I personally find linkedin to be a better job board than indeed, so the job board you use might matter at your location.

Many companies have had to reduce hiring or even lay people off due to the economic impacts of COVID-19. Businesses are still hiring though, so keep applying. Hiring for new college graduates comes in waves, the biggest is usually in November (hiring Seniors before they graduate), but it doesn’t drop off sharply.