Seeking solace as a self-taught developer

Hey guys, I’ve had people not understand it if they see me with a computer all the time, especially my parents. They often see that as a sign of laziness or irresponsibility instead of getting a part-time job (as I’m still a student in college) or something that has a physical value in the immediate sense.

Sometimes, I feel down and wanna do stuffs that please them but I still eventually end up with me back to my screen. I’ve been living with this for a while now and with no sense of a physical community to seek support, I seek solace in my computer. I guess this comes with being a self-taught programmer. I’ve dabbled in Python aiming for some Robotics, AI and Information Security dream for three years before coming to realise I needed something else to support my ambitions.

Just started on the fcc forum tho but I wanna make the best use of the opportunity of this platform with support and learn which is hard to do if people in real life don’t get what you do and you paddle in a lonely canoe with little to no motivation. :face_holding_back_tears:

So, I wanna hear stories from the online community on how people took to you literally living your life on a computer and what you did about it.

Thanks.

I wonder if getting a job doing the development work you know how to do would be a simple (if not quick) solution? Maybe you can try?

I am not a fan of the carpal tunnel syndrome or the myopia or the bent neck I’ve developed over the years of sitting hunched at a computer terminal though.

Some people have standing desks to help avoid that. Perhaps seeing you standing at a computer desk will look better to your family (not to mention prevent some of the issues i mentioned).

2 Likes

I’ve been around technology and computers since I was small, as there was always a computer in the house. I’d play some kid games, and old-school flight simulators as a kid as I enjoyed the challenging aspect.