Share Your Learning Strategy

Hi everyone! This is my first post on the forum.

I’ve been trying to learn Javascript on and off for more than a year now. I’m originally a marketer and it seems like I’m always brought back to my primary skill whenever I’m a part of a project.

Now, I’m curious about people’s strategy to learn Javascript and what you have found to work for you and others. Please share what is your learning plan and what has helped you to keep learning and applying what you are learning on FreeCodeCamp.

My learning strategy is:

STEP 0: Learn basics of algorithms and data structures
STEP 1. Learn Javascript
STEP 2. Learn how Internet works under the hood
STEP 3. Learn APIs and frameworks

HEADS UP: It would feel slooooow and counterintuitive because all correct decisions feel that way.

1 Like

Hi there.

I started learning Javascript through a course paid by the company I now worked, but I found it wasn’t very good so I decided to investigate on my own. Obviously, the FreeCodeCamp curriculum has basically teached me everything. I sometimes go to W3Schools for more specific questions. And obviously, trying to make a lot of projects so It becomes muscle memory.

Hope that helps <3

1 Like

First of all, I’d identify why you haven’t been able to learn Javascript for over a year of trying. How far have you gotten in those learning sessions you’ve had? Were you learning on your own or using some courses, tutorials?
There are lots of ways to learn any programming language, my favorite is learning with a course (Udemy has some great ones) and creating some own projects after that course. When you feel comfortable enough, jump into another course - this time for a framework or some other technology - and repeat.

Also, you’ve mentioned Javascript but not HTML/CSS, are you proficient with those? You should have a good hang of basics IMO before you jump into JS.