Should I toss in the towel on programming?

Hey!

Im not very active on this forum but I do enjoy browsing it from to time!

So to the topic: I made this topic about 2years ago :How to move forward after getting laid off
Long story short I got laid off as a frontend dev after 5months because of lack of experience.

Now after that job I was unemployed for a year and a half(worked on my own projects in the meanwhile). I was looking for new devs job and after a long time I manged to get a job as an IT consultant. I was superhappy to get hired again and was eager to work again :slight_smile:

Now after I got my first assingment about 2months ago(for a bigger IT firm) I was told today by me boss at my consultancy firm that I was gonna get let go in 1month from my current position and get put on the bench again…

It was a position that required me to work with ts, and since Im still a junior js dev, they said it should not be problem for me to pick up how they work since I passed the interview/code test they gave me.

Now after 2months they said that they were looking for someone who has more experience then me and that they are going to replace me. I know ts is new to me and I have mostly done CSS related stuff they still are going to let me go in a month, I dont get why they want around for 1 more month if I have only been there for 2months seems odd to me…

Now I dont know what to do, I feel like such a failure and I dont know if I should stop programming even though I really like programming.

Regards.

Hi @dizzy1 !

Thank you for sharing your story.
I think a lot of people have probably been through something similar.
Thank you for being vulnerable and sharing your story.

I don’t think you should stop programming.
I think you just need a new game plan. :grinning:

I am still very much a junior.
So I am sure the more experienced devs can give you more detailed advice.

But I would try asking your boss for more detailed feedback on what you can work on.