Signing out without losing progress

Hi,
Feeling glad that I’ve joined this site, and very pleased at having got to step 12 in the first challenge, I want to leave but am not sure what happens if I sign out of my account. It says I’ll lose my progress if I do that - is that true?

You can sign in and out of your account as you wish (which is useful if you’re using public computers e.g.) and your progress will continue to be saved, as long as you’re signed in when you’re actually completing challenges etc.

Brilliant - thanks! After struggling with seemingly incomprehensible html coding manuals, this is such a good way to learn.