Solutions for Neurodivergent Learner

Hi all. I’m pretty new to this whole coding thing. Aside from studying HTML in a middle school class in 2009, and Visual BASIC a year later, I’ve got no experience. But a recently rekindled interest out of nowhere.

So when my girlfriend told me how she learned C++ for free here, I thought it was absolutely perfect. And so far, it is. There’s just one catch.

I had kinda forgotten that if the material I’m learning from is digital, I don’t retain it as well. Even with finishing HTML Basics and being quarter-way through CSS, I’ve already forgotten some things. Obviously part of this will come from practice, but being able to physically flip to a page I need for reference is how I learn best. I’m a hands-on learner but I almost need a physical copy of the material I’m learning.

I’m wondering if there’ a way to print out the fCC lessons, if anybody has compiled them for printer-friendly versions, or if there’s books to actually purchase(I wouldn’t mind that). Even books not associated with fCC that go over the material in a similar fashion to help me learn this. Otherwise it’s going to be how I play instruments; all muscle memory, which won’t work for the dynamic way that programming works.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2 Likes

Hi @KingNothingIII !

The challenges do get updated over time so someone’s notes might not be 100% up to date.
Also, the current curriculum will be replaced with an all project based curriculum.
So that means no more challenges, just projects.

Since you are interested in text based options here are a few to consider.

Documentation:
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/

Articles:

Books

Books can be tricky because technology is always changing.
But books that cover the basics of the language are good.
I just wouldn’t buy books on libraries or frameworks because it will go out of date pretty quickly.

Hope that helps!

1 Like