Solving "Testing Objects for Properties" with a Container Variable then Return as Variable errors

Tell us what’s happening:
Describe your issue in detail here.
So I checked the hint and found the right solution. But I can’t seem to figure out what’s wrong with my current code. (I am a beginner and I learnt basic Java from University this term)
Basically, I created a variable as a container for any string, and this function will return this variable in the end.

I first check if the object owns the property, then if it does, I assign the answer = obj[checkProperty]; if not I assign the answer to “Not Found”
I solely believe that this code will somehow work in Java…? I am not sure. I am a real beginner, I have seen the correct one but instead of creating a container variable “answer”, they just return right away. Whats the catch here? doesn’t it return as a string in the end anyways?

**Your code so far**
function checkObj(obj, checkProp) {
// Only change code below this line
const answer = "";

if (obj.hasOwnProperty(checkProp)){
  answer = obj[checkProp];
} else if (!obj.hasOwnProperty(checkProp)){
  answer = "Not Found";
}
return answer;
// Only change code above this line
}

**Your browser information:**

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/103.0.0.0 Safari/537.36

Challenge: Testing Objects for Properties

Link to the challenge:

Hi @Albert_Wang !

Welcome to the forum!

Remember that const variable can not be reassigned a value.

You will need to use let to pass the tests.

But also, hasOwnProperty returns a boolean, so you don’t need this else if to check for false.

You can use an else clause

Hope that helps!

1 Like