Special case for starting a career

Hello!!!

First of all I am 41 years old, from a country with bad economy, I have a degree in electronic engineering & computer engineering, and the most important detail: I am deaf, and therefore I have a particular difficulty in direct communication (such as viper or skype for example).

When I got my degree, I had found a job with an 18-month contract, then for a while with a colleague creating various sites. Unfortunately, this was not enough, and I was putting a lot of pressure on my finances, and despite my constant effort I could not find a job, as a result of which I was forced to retire after 5 years (because i’m deaf).

Since until now I have not worked again. Meanwhile I got married and recently added to my family a second child. So I feel a need to go back to the job market, to improve our finances and have a decent life. Unfortunately the economy in my country is so bad that I doubt I will find anything here in the local community, and also immigration is not in my plans for many reasons.

My question is, is there any chance for a remote job, to work at home for a foreign company? If so, what can I do to increase that chance? Is my age an obstacle as well as a lack of experience?

Informatively, although I am “inactive” for many years, I have knowledge from html to c ++, my only drawback is the experience, but I have a lot of appetite for a lot of reading to remember everything. As a hobby I have solved 48 problems in the project euler, so far. Besides, at school I could not listen to the teachers, I learned everything only from reading, essentially as a self-taught person.

I would really appreciate a valuable piece of advice, to know what to do, I NEED a mentor. I do not have a portfolio unfortunately, do I have to start making stuff? If so, in what area? data analysis; web development; Who has more demand to focus there?

Thank you very much!

1 Like

Hello. I’m no expert, but these are my thoughts…