Store output of the function in a variable in javascript

I’m very new to javascript and this is my first individual project and I really exited about it,but some things don’t work properly yet. Problem I’m having is that I have this function that creates the random digit number :

//user_length() has a value of a favored length of number entered by user
//random_digit() returns digit randomly from 1-9

function random_number(){
      let sequence = [];
      for(i = 0; i < user_length() ; i++ ){
         sequence.push(random_digit());
      }

return sequence.toString().replace(/,/g,"")
    }

but I have to call this function twice in different places:

//to chack whether what user has written matches the displayed number or not
function check(){

let inputVal = document.getElementById("user_input").value;

for (i = 0 ; i < user_length() ; i++){
      return inputVal[i] ===random_number()[i] ? console.log(random_number()) : console.log(inputVal + " is wrong,right answer is " + random_number())
    }

}

//to display number on screen for user to "remember"
function number_onScreen(){
    create_p();
    let random_num= document.getElementById("random_number");
    random_num.innerHTML = random_number();
    random_num.style.margin = "0px";
    random_num.style.padding = "0px";

}

what happens is that number that is displayed on the screen is different from the number Check() function compares to the one user tried to remember. for example, the displayed number was: 23749

the user would also write 23749 if they remembered correctly, but the check() function has a different value from the displayed number and the user will never guess that. I understand that my problem is that I call the random_number() function two different times and that’s why they have different value, I tried to store the output in the variable but don’t really know how to so I always got "Undefined " as an output, could you help me?