Stretched myself on the diffArray intermediate algorithm challenge

Hello everyone, I’m still new to programming and I’m very excited right now about what I just did and I think it works fine.

On the diffArray challenge in the Intermediate Algorithm Scripting section, I first figure out the main challenge i.e writing an algorithm that compares two arrays passed as args to a function and returns an array of their difference .

Then I thought to myself what if I could write an algorithm that compares more than two arrays, preferably as many arrays as you pass into the function, and return an array of their difference. And yes, i did it!

Here’s my solution. (Please make it better if you can)

function diffOfArrays(...arg) {
  var combinedArr = [];
  var newArr = [];

arg.map(item => {
    if (item instanceof Array) {
      combinedArr.push(...item);
    }
  });

for (let item of combinedArr) {
    if (combinedArr.lastIndexOf(item) === combinedArr.indexOf(item)) {
      newArr.push(item);
    }
  }
  return newArr;
}
1 Like

Your solution looks good, taking a challenge and playing with it and changing it is a great way to learn.

The only part I’d change is this:

arg.map(item => {
    if (item instanceof Array) {
      combinedArr.push(...item);
    }
  });

You’re misusing .map here a little, .map is meant to take an array, transform each item into something different, and return the changed array. You’re using it here as a replacement for a for loop, so the Array method you’d pick for that is .forEach.

You can also avoid a loop altogether if you use the spread operator and .flat to create the combined array (optionally filter first if the arguments are indeed arrays)

combinedArr = [...arg].filter(arr => Array.isArray(arr)).flat();
1 Like

You just made me a better programmer. First time I’m getting to know the .flat() method. Thanks a lot for your time.

combinedArr = args.flat(infinity);
//args is already an array

//using filter here is not needed