Struggling to remember - only on challenge 35!

I started learning FCC in my spare time at night. While initially it felt like I was learning something, I’m not sure if I’m remembering much. There are so many rules on where a <>, =, ", /, ., -, go that it just feels random. I’m getting that a <> and </> are used to begin and end different lines of code, but then you add in words like “form,” “input text,” and whole bunch of other catch-phrase words and it feels a bit overwhelming. Did any of you feel the same when starting from pretty much total scratch as a newbie? Did you feel like you’d never make it through even the beginning HTLM/CSS tutorial?

@camperextraordinaire is right that repetition is the only thing that will make it stick. You may also have some misunderstandings that are causing you problems.

I noticed this in particular which isn’t entirely accurate. If you’re talking about HTML, <> is going to be your opening tag and </> will be your closing tag. They usually wrap some other content (text or another tag) in your HTML. Whatever is between the two will be contained within that tag’s element on your page. A “line” of code refers to a literal line in your code (so, the space between two newlines). A single line can have multiple tags like this:

<p>This text will be <em>inside</em> the paragraph element.</p>

On the other side of this, a single tag can be spread across multiple lines like this:

<nav> <!-- Navigation opens on this line -->
  <ul>
    <li>Nav item 1</li>
    <li>Nav item 2</li>
    <li>Nav item 3</li>
    <li>Nav item 4</li>
  </ul>
</nav> <!-- Navigation tag closes on this line -->

I’d say your problem is two-fold: You’re probably misunderstanding why some things are the way they are combined with the fact you haven’t repeated the concepts you’ve learned quite enough for them to really stick.